· 

first day in Kanturk

Hey folks, 

my first proper day in Kanturk is nearly over. And it was an amazing one.

 

First of all, I slept until 10 o'clock, because the last day was just so exhausting. When I finally got up I thought "AM I DUMP?!" because I couldn't switch on the light, but it turned out to be a problem with the electricity and Sonya went out into town to fix it. While she was doing so I had a nice chat with David and smiled at the little Preston a hundred times. When Sonya finally came back we decided to go into town again. She showed me my school way and where to find what in Kanturk. Once she stopped in front of shop outlining that this was the shop I'd get my school uniform from. And heeya - I got my school uniform. Standing in front of the mirror watching me in a school uniform was so unfamiliar. On the one hand it was sooo cool, new and exciting but on the other hand I just can't imagine me sitting in a classroom where everyone wears the same. Just by the topic of school I'd like to add that my school starts on Wednesday and only at 9 o'clock. I can't wait to finally enter the building and explore this whole new world lying upon me. 

At 3 o'clock we had some kind of brunch, because I hadn't actually eaten anything for breakfast and the lunch was very breakfast-like. Sausages, eggs and white pudding  - delicious :) After that, I wanted to go back into town to get myself a prepaid sim-card. I wanted to take the dog with me but the collar we bought in the morning turned out to be too big, blots (the dog's name is blots) just has to grow. Eventually I went for a walk on my own, but still it was great fun. I was very proud of myself that I managed to get a sim-card and to make me understand. And an elderly woman on the street told me that she liked my hair. How cute! So for now, I'm just chill'n a bit in my room, skyping, writing this blog entry and reading. Although, the day hasn't yet been that long, I feel a bit tired. But u know - been in a new country is exciting and loads of adrenalin makes u tired sometime. 

 

To finish with I just wanna list what I've learned. Tbh I knew those things anyway but I was interested in whether they are true or not. So, the Irish really pronounce Cork like Cark and say fillum instead of film. So there u go guys, that's it for today. 

 

xxkasi