· 

Londres - une ville féerique

Hey folks,

what the craic?

It's been a while since I last wrote an entry but at least I have a cool story to tell now. I was in London - last weekend!

 

On Friday my trip began and I took the bus from Mallow to Shannon Airport early in the morning. Once I was there I had 3 hours left so I decided to mark the beginning of the day with a croissant as breakfast. As noone else from the organisation was there yet I just checked in by myself and went to the gate. There I soon met other exchange students, many of them were actually from Germany, but also some from Spain and Italy. So I already had great company while waiting for the flight. Once we were in London then, we waited for the other Ireland students who flew from Dublin. The bus drive took some time but I enjoyed talking to Christina who is from Spain and looking outside the window to see bits and pieces of London. At the Hult campus we had time to move into our rooms - I shared a new, modern room with the German girl Louisa and we were both overwhelmed by the stunning view - 13th floor btw. After a brief introduction at the university we got pizza in the fancy restaurant on the campus. This was the perfect opportunity to meet the other UK students and talk to some new people and I have to admit that they were all outstandingly nice and open. In the evening we visited the "hipster" part of London as we were told. I was really fascinated by the Cereal Killer Cafe. In the evening the had a great laugh, chatting and relaxing a bit. The next day was going to be really though. 

Saturday 9 o'clock: After breakfast we stared our long but exciting day at the Hult University. First, John Neal who is a Performance Coach talked with us about Leadership. What does Leadership mean? Surprised by how often we encounter Leadership, like on a daily basis, we were challenged to take decisions under time pressure. I personally think that John Neal made us think critically but aware. And I still thinks that it is really cool that we owns a gym in the Buckingham Palace. After lunch break Peter Hill who is a Career Coach originally from Hawaii held a really interesting lecture about "Dependable strengths". We students also got very involved and when we told 3 experiences which make us proud in small groups the others took down which strengths they see in you. My team members mentioned characteristics I already knew but was never really aware off. This helped me seeing myself more clearly. Unfortunately, it was all over very soon. To remind us that this great experience was not just a dream we also got a certificate. And at 7 o'clock we then made out way to the Tower Bridge. Talking to other exchange students all over the world I enjoyed visiting this city just so much more. Until 22.30 we strolled through the city centre, fascinated by the beautiful sights. And back at the Hult Towers we danced to some music and fully enjoyed our last night together. As time always seems to fly, it was soon time to go to bed and already time to say goodbye to most of the Ireland and all of the UK students. It was an amazingly awesome time! 

On Sunday we had to stand up at 6 o'clock to be ready to leave in time. The ride on the Tube wasn't as difficult as I thought and we were at the airport soon where this whole adventures had started. Really fast we arrived in Ireland safe and sound. I'm back on this lovely little green island<3 I am very grateful for this memorable weekend. I suppose my highlight was meeting all those great, fantastic and inspiring people. Hope to see you all again soon.

 

xxKasi