· 

Let's go to the beach

Hey folks,

how is life going on? Have you already done your summer exams or are you not yet enjoying summer holidays? I'm tellin' ya time is flying - 5 days left - can anyone believe this?

 

Ireland is a beautiful country I even adore when it's weather is producing nothing more than some rain and clouds, but as if Ireland wants to show it's best side before we leave - the weather has been marvelous the last days. We have summer, it's warm & sunny all day long. As I am from Austria which literally lies in the middle of Europe we do not have access to a beach. Of course, I am often at the public swimming pool in summer, but I just love the whole shebang about beaches. The atmosphere, the smell & uuuh the noise of the waves clashing against the rocks. What luck that I happen to be in the best host family ever which takes me to the beach! 

 

We started at mid-day at about 11 o'clock driving towards the Inchydoney Beach, stopping at Dunnes in Macroom to buy some food and drinks. I also tried to find short pants so that I might not die of heat in my flap trousers, but I couldn't find any that fitted, but I mean it was not too bad in the flap trousers anyway. So we then continued our little roadtrip, listening to music, enjoying the wind blowing through our hair & of course enjoying the beautiful nature Ireland's. 

So once Schnitzel (yes, I got the nickname Schnitzel over here) arrived at the beach, I had a huge, big smile on my face. WE ARE AT THE BEACH!!! The sand was roasting when we tried our first insecure steps barefoot but soon got used to it. Some suncream was put on before the real fun could begin. I tried my best to build some sandcastles with Brooklyn and took Preston for a little walk around the beach. I did not go swimming, but I was strolling along the strand tipping my feet into the water and convincing Brooklyn that he should come too. It was so much fun! For lunch I enjoyed my pasta and chickpea salad and I played some more with the boys. It was just such  a fabulous day. To also capture the memories we made that day some photos were took & I think they turned out sooooo cute<3 

As it always seems to happen the day passed by way too fast, but I enjoyed it fully. (Even though I have to admit that I kinda had the feeling that we were on vacation, this was just such a different part of Ireland) - THANK YOU so much for taking me there, u are the best host family ever. It was such a great day. Great craic, great craic.

 

And now, my last school day is over. The last time I had worn my school uniform in Scoil Mhuire has passed and all of my exams are done. I do like the idea of having summer holidays right now but I can't believe that I'm coming back home so soon already. But I can proudly say that enjoying my exchange is an understatement.

 

xxkasi