· 

NYC

Hey folks,

it's been a while but I hope ur doing okay.

School was so much stress but hey - we finally have holidays :) 

And I finally got the time to edit all of my NY pictures.

Here are my impressions of this amazing city.

So I was in New York in September and fall made Central Park awesomely colourful. But I suppose it was much more than that what made me fall in love with this city. Some of you might know a lot about New York already so I'm just gonna briefly outline what we did and then I want to share w u guys what NY is really about (for me at least). 

Right ... Here we go. Of all those famous attractions we chose a few to have a closer look at. I saw NYC from the top of the Rock (Rockefeller Center) and from the One World Trade Center. Tbh being on top of the One World Trade Center I literally felt the building shaking a bit - but the view was definitely worth it! We visited China Town, Little Italy. Discovered the enormous American Museum of Natural History. Visited the Intrepid, Central Park, Central Station, Brooklyn, High Line Park, Times Square... We saw the Statue of Liberty when driving past on the Staten Island Ferry. And we laughed so hard watching the hilarious musical "Something Rotten". And obviously there is much more we discovered on our trip 'cause we were walking for hours every single day :)

BUT WHAT IS NYC REALLY ABOUT?

I love to write down all of the small bits and pieces that I associate with a city and I have a long list I want to share w u about NYC:

 

1. It's about the smoke coming from the subway through manhole covers when it's cold outside.

 

2. It's about the piles of trash that are outside the shops at night - ready to get picked up in the morning.

 

3. It's about the skyscrapers which stand next to old buildings.

 

4. It's about the American accent.

 

5. It's about buying coffee2go all the time.

 

6. It's about the endless blinking and shining signs at shops.

 

7. It's about the fact that Times Square is so bright, because of all the signs.

 

8. It's about the fire escapes that wrench down the buildings.

 

9. It's about passing the road when it's red/about to turn green.

 

10. It's about the atmosphere in Central Station of everyone travelling.

11. It's about everyone being in a rush.

 

12. It's about figuring out whether a taxi is free.

 

13. It's about hearing the traffic, ppl beeping their horns ect. all the time.

 

14. It's about super cute & fancy coffee shops.

 

15. It's about hearing the police sirens like 10 times a day.

 

16. It's about doing ice-skating at Rockefeller Center.

 

17. It's about trying to get through a crowd of ppl.

 

18. It's about this certain smell of the subway.

 

19. It's about how you walk on the grids on the street to get some warm air from the subway.

 

20. It's about walking distance counted in blocks.

21. It's about servants in Little Italy shouting "Ciao ragazza"

 

22. It's about discovering High Line Park.

 

23. It's about being totally fascinated by Greenwich village.

 

24. It's about redbrick houses.

 

25. It's about walking down a street where you can only find shops to buy flowers.

 

26. It's about seeing skyscrapers disappearing in fog.

 

27. It's about the NYC feeling.

 

And much much more. I hope you got a little insight. And I hope you enjoyed it.

 

xxkasi