Thank you 2017 - you were quite awesome

Hello everyone,

Here I am – still alive and happy to tell that my New Year’s resolutions include blogging more. As New Year’s Eve is just around the corner I thought it might be a nice idea (also as sort of an update) to share with you the highlights of 2017:

 

January

To be quite honest, the year had an amazing start. On the 3rd of January (which btw is the date I flew to Ireland in 2016) I headed towards London to help at an EF Discovery Tour as an Ambassador. I loved seeing all the students again and hearing what they experienced to this point. Moreover, I met Marlene again and had a fantastic time in this beautifully vivid city. Only a few days later (12th of January) I made my way to Lucerne where I was part of the Global Ambassador Summit. I could not believe how lucky I was to be able to talk about the EF Ambassador Program and to meet other Ambassador who knew exactly how I felt after my exchange was over – I met amazing people in Switzerland and also enjoyed dressing fancy w my business cloth ^-^ 

March

At the very end of March (30th or March) I went to Florence, Italy with the orchestra. I loved the warm temperatures, the picturesque landscape and we even played a concert in a small town a little outside of Florence. What a weekend!

 

April

April meant finally going on my first trip with my best friend Jasz! Oh my god – I was sooo excited. The two of us went to Edinburgh (and on a daytrip to Glasgow) to explore every corner of this charming city. Edinburgh just has this certain something- I do have to say! Moreover, I again met some EF students who were on a Discovery Tour and we were even left joining them for Celtic Dancing. It was so much fun! And Jasz was happy that she went despite her doubts whether she would fit as (as she has never been an exchange student) – but let me tell you – the students all loved her. Once we were back in Austria it was soon time again to pack our bags and head towards Berlin. On a class trip we explored the German capital and I even met Shawn again – an EF Ambassador who was at Camp & Welcome Days in 2016.

 

May

I went to Styria where I met Lena again. I loved to see her again (actually she is coming in January 2018 to my prom – so excited to see you again girl)

 

June

At the end of the month I went to Berlin another time to be part of Shawn’s prom. I danced all night and had great fun!

 

July

I started right off with visiting Milan on a daytrip with Klara and as I finally had holidays I went to Milan a second time to be part of the Global Leadership Summit. The topic: The future of food. I got to listen to Anthony Bourdain, Raj Patel and Stephen Ritz! That was pretty awesome! Additionally, I loved being a journalism and public speaking intern. I talked in front of 2000 students – still can’t believe it! After an amazing weekend in Milan I went on a language course to Barcelona for two weeks. It was the perfect combination of language course, culture, adventure and vacation. I visited loads of art museums, met incredible people (thanks to all of you) & enjoyed myself 24/7. 

 

August

My next destination was Ireland. And actually I hadn’t been there for an entire year! So you can imagine how incredibly excited I was so finally be back. I helped as an Ambassador at Camp &Welcome Days and had the time of my life helping students, planning activities ect. + I was reunited with Isa!! And after Welcome Days I stayed in Dublin for a couple of days with Isa and Shawn & even met my host family and their newborn!

 

September

I went on little daytrips with my friends like a biking tour and went to Zurich for a birthday party where I saw Nuria (who I met in Lucerne) and Cora (who I met in Milan) again! And I met Leoni!

 

October

In the fall holidays I went to Germany to inform myself about studying Medicine and Business. I loved the skills lab at the university of Mainz where I could try to draw blood! I was really impressed but I didn’t really enjoy the business university.

 

November

I turned 18, celebrated my birthday and visited Marlene (she was in London too) in Munich! Really enjoyed seeing her again.

 

 

December

Here we are – nearly done. The most interesting thing in December was probably a trip to Straßbourg with my dad. For years I wanted to visit an art museum there. Apart from that, it was more or less the usual Christmas spirit and Christmas dinners… (I ate so much –omg) and now the year is almost over. Thanks 2017 for being an pretty awesome year. I am very grateful, I do know that I was very lucky to go to all these places. I hope that 2018 is going to be great as well even though I do know that I can’t travel as much as I am doing my leaving cert and hopefully starting university. I am excited for 2018

 

Thanks a million to all the people that made my year such a nice one <3 hope to see u all soon