· 

Barcelona

Barcelona is a stunning and vivid city where I met a bunch of fascinating, inspiring and friendly human beings and after 2 weeks of staying with a Spanish host family Barcelona already felt a little bit like home. I do have to admit that the EF summer program I was on, was the perfect combination of study and summer vacation.  But what does Barcelona really mean to me?

1. I associate Barcelona with meeting people from all over the world. I made friends from Belgium, LA, France, Italy...

 

2. Barcelona is all about the vibe. I love the fact that Spanish people have dinner like reeeaally late and stay up all night & I love the way of life in Spain.

 

3. Vegetarian Paellas ARE a thing! And OMG - sooo delicious.

 

4. Hot summer nights!

 

5. The Spanish language! I really, really want to become fluent in Spanish one day.

6. Spontaneous, late night swims are the best!

 

7. That moment when you find an unbelievably cute café somewhere down a narrow little road - yeees!

 

8. Having the best view ever from your own terrace. I swear I could sit there forever & talk to my roommates.

 

9. Beach nights. It's just so cozy to sit together & talk at the beach. Especially as the sound of the waves is super relaxing.

 

10.  Sweat! C'mon we do have to admit it! Going to Spain in summer does include a lot of sweat.

11. Un bocadillo con tortilla. Give me one! Now! Please!

 

12. Art museums - there were too many. I have to go back to Barcelona to tick all of the museum off.

 

13. That moment when you want to go somewhere with your friends, but you are unsure where to find the next metro station. Well, let's just go down this road for a bit - shall we?

 

14. Buying your host mum a watermelon and a cactus as a present.

 

15. Getting home by taxi and being fascinated by how fast the taxi driver accelerates before having to stop again due to a red light. Like what is the point? How about just driving a little more slowly with the results that you don't have to stop? 

16. Ticking off tourist attractions every single day without end - there is always something new to explore in Barcelona.

 

17. Trying to read Spanish poetry.

 

18. That moment when you are super proud because you know which metro line to get on and where to get off, until you realise you used the wrong exit. Like how far away can 2 metro exits/entrances be? 

 

19. When you use every single one of the subway rides that are on your metro card.

 

20. Barcelona is all about living the present and enjoying every second of your sunny summer.